Working as an Extra

ImageImageImage

During my final semester as an undergraduate Psychology major, while planning my June wedding, I somehow still found some spare time in need of filling. My wallet needed some filling as well, so I jumped upon the opportunity to work as an extra. It barely paid, especially considering the gas money I spent to get to the location, but I figured it was worth it for the experience and the small amount I made after gas. To put it in perspective, I worked on The Search Party (see the yellow skirt picture) and the Bonnie and Clyde biopic, and according to my w-2’s made something like $200. It’s no way to get rich quick, and I worked 12 hours each day, but it was a good enough experience that I decided to apply again. I have nothing but free time until C. and I go to his next work site, so why not? I applied for 5 different roles today, updated my headshot and my weight, since it is 15 lbs more than when I registered with the casting site. I don’t think that matters much since I was usually the smallest non-bikini-clad extra anyway. Besides, I’m a 4/6, it’s not that hard to dress me. A funny thing about working on Bonnie and Clyde: I was supposed to be a diner waitress, but due to how long shooting was taking and the overtime paid to actors who work past midnight, I ended up being William Hurt’s stand-in. Basically, I watched him act the scene while I was waiting to do my part, and when the time came, they cut the waitress part and asked me to try to replicate his movements while they filmed over and over again. It was definitely unexpected, but apparently in a giant warmer coat, my body can pass for a middle-aged actor’s? Uh. Yeah.

Anyway, I’ll have to wait and see if I booked any of the roles I just applied for. It doesn’t usually take long to hear if yes, a few days or less unless they call last-minute.

One thought on “Working as an Extra

Leave a Reply

