Cadillac Ranch

Image

 

Cadillac Ranch is a few miles away on the famous Route 66, so we went to check it out this afternoon. It was pretty cool and random. As we walked through the gate, a teenager handed us his can of spray paint which was awesome since I had no idea about the graffiti aspect of the whole thing. It was definitely my first time graffitiing anything, first time even using spray paint. The wind made it even harder to achieve my simple goal of emblazoning our initials on a Cadillac, and I’m certainly no Banksy, but I think it’s legible enough even though C. begged to differ. His “La” for Louisiana didn’t look any better, so neither of us has a career in graffiti art.

After the Ranch we headed off to another ranch for dinner- the Big Texas Steak Ranch, home of the 72 oz. steak challenge (finish it and a shrimp cocktail, baked potato, salad and bread all in under an hour and it’s free- otherwise, it’s 72 dollars). We both tried Rocky Mountain oysters for the first time and I thought C. summed it up pretty well when he said, “it tastes like fried food”. It did… though the texture was unique, not in a bad way. Neither of us attempted the challenge, and I would never even if I knew I could do it because I hate eating in front of people and they have people attempting it sit at a table on a platform in view of everyone. The restaurant is huge with two stories, so that’s a lot of watching eyes! They have a trash can next to the challenge table, too, and I was kind of relieved no one attempted it and used the can, though C. was disappointed. 

Leave a Reply

