Cooking and Wine

imageimageToday I indulged in one of my favorite (and most wholesome) new-ish hobbies and spent the afternoon with a glass of white wine, chopping, mixing, and simmering up a big pot of chili. It was even more fun because I used the stove, not the crockpot, therefore it was more involved and hands-on than some of the things I cook. I made a vegan 4-bean chili I found on another wordpress site, jentoyourhealth.wordpress.com. I made one subsitition, using shallots instead of garlic (but still in addition to the onion). It was quite easy and I tasted it and it tastes delicious. I got cheese and sour cream for C. so for him it will be vegetarian and for me, vegan.
I’ve actually been having a really hard time being vegan with all the travelling I do, so at home I’ve been vegan, but when travelling I’ve been pescatarian but still avoiding anything with eggs. I’m going to have to figure out a way to be my version of vegan (I’ve allowed fish if it’s not farmed, but fresh-caught)… I don’t really call it veganism unless I’m looking for recipes because I know I’m not properly vegan, but it’s the easiest way to order/find things with no milk, eggs, dairy derivatives, etc.

I’m also making a homemade vinaigrette with olive oil, red wine vinegar, shallots, salt and pepper to go with my spring salad.

Anyway, I’ve had a good time drinking white wine spritzers and cooking this afternoon. I just got back from the trans health conference in Philadelphia on Sunday and I will be posting about that, as well as our upcoming move to Hampton, VA, soon! The move has given me a lot of opportunity to research things on the internet which is another “hobby” of mine, just ask C. I’m driving him mad.

 

2 thoughts on “Cooking and Wine

Leave a Reply

