Training for a 5k

I decided that I want to get back into running again, despite a decade as a smoker (still smoking :/) and more than a decade since I ran a 5k. This post is kind of for my own benefit, so if a bunch of slow stats bore you, this is boring). I’ve been exercising outside in Louisiana since February, with a couple months doing nothing because I was discouraged by not only a lack of results, but by gaining weight despite 3 or 4 workouts a week. But on August 1st I decided I was going to do a 5k in Virginia on Oct 4th and forced myself to run one mile without stopping to walk and see a) if I could do it and b) what my time would be. I ran one mile in 9:46, which is really shitty compared to my sub 6 minute miles in high school, but I actually expected it to be 11:00, so honestly I was pretty happy it was under 10 minutes and that I was physically capable of doing it.

This is the race that I already forked over $48 for, so I can't back out.
This is the race that I already forked over $48 for, so I can’t back out.

Since August 1st, I’ve moved to Virginia from Louisiana and made probably 40 trips up and down the stairs with heavy boxes, so running hasn’t been a priority. I did 2 miles in 25:44 Aug 3rd (clearly mixed walking in there) and didn’t run again until this afternoon. I treated myself to 2 pairs of running shorts from Marshall’s yesterday (for only a total of $20, which is great since they had price tags on them saying $32 and $48 and I would not pay that) so I just had to take them for a spin. I know it’s supposed to be rude to talk about money, by the way, but I never can help myself since I love to talk about a deal or confess my spending sins. So, yeah, it’s gonna happen.

I bought this awesome pair of shorts with built in biker-short type things to prevent my thighs from chafing because I definitely do not have a thigh gap. They worked and I mostly ran, but also walked, 1.8 miles in 20:59 today. I think that’s a slightly better pace than the 2 miles I did the other day. Baby baby steps. I am super sore all over from moving, but surprisingly I felt no pain on my little run. I still have a long way to go before I am running 3.2 miles non-stop, but I’d love to get there soon so that I can train with the Peninsula Road Runners, a group I joined but am not yet in shape enough to actually run with.

fancy new running shorts and my first Virginia workout
fancy new running shorts and my first Virginia workout

 

Leave a Reply

