A Real Haircut

I just went to Animare salon (its an Aveda salon) to get my first professional haircut in a decade. I can’t explain why it’s been that long aside from the fact that I kept trying to get layered cuts in my teens and kept getting those weird mullety cuts. You know, where the shortest layer is the thickest, so you have gross long tendrils. Who wants that? Why was this such a recurring thing? I was just done putting my trust in hair stylists only to end up with another sad mullet, so I’ve been cutting my own hair since. Usually it’s just a blunt shoulder cut, but occasionally I do a trim or try my hand at layers. But I’m almost 29, it was time to get my butt back into a salon. So, here are the before and afters (before is from last week because I never wear my hair down).

ew, scraggly.
ew, scraggly.
It reminds me of "the rachel"  and I love it.
It reminds me of “the rachel” and I love it.

I made an appointment for monday to have ombre balayage done, which is a subtle sun-kissed looking highlighting technique, as seen on Lauren Conrad and Jessica Biel.  I enjoyed my weird bleaching and colors when I had them, but now it’s time to make it less DIY and more adult. It’s pretty revolutionary to me to be trying for an actual hairstyle and color technique, I feel so fancy. I could hear the color drain out of C.’s face over the phone when I told him how much the coloring costs, but I informed him that we were obviously rich since he was supposed to come home today but is staying on in NY to work for at least another week. He said that I have a twisted view of how things work, which I took as approval since none of the words in that sentence were “no”. Fair enough, right? But listen, I’ve never had a cut or color in the 4+ years we’ve been together, so he can’t complain too much.

I applied to a company that subcontracts substitute teachers for Hampton schools and have an interview in a few weeks, so hopefully this will mean gainful employment. I expected to want a month to soak up life in this new city, but it took less than a week before I was dying for a part time job. I just really want to work 2 or 3 days a week. It’s hard (in a first world problem way) to be so aimless and unproductive, I need a little structure and hard work mixed in with my free time or it’s hard to appreciate the free time. Since my dream job is teaching at a college level I think substituting is the perfect fit for me right now; I get the experience of teaching, something besides retail to put on my resume and it’s something I am currently qualified for and will enjoy. I’m really hoping that I get this gig, but I will definitely look into temp agencies and weekend work if not.

2 thoughts on “A Real Haircut

Leave a Reply

