Visiting Virginia Family

We took the short-ish trip to the DC area to visit my sister-in-law and family this weekend. I got to see firsthand what being a mother of two kids under 4 looks like, and it basically looks like every wants and needs you all at once, most of the time. It’s a lot, especially when you figure that’s her time “off”, but she seems to juggle it all so well. I don’t know if I’d be as good at doing it all as she is, I would guess not. I mean she kind of does everything, works, sews, cooks, is mommy, is wife, works out on top of it all, and ya know keeps house, gardens, has a second job most of the time… I mean ?! It’s a good thing I’m not trying to measure up to all of that. Also, the kids are sweet and absolutely gorgeous.

I wasn’t surprised at how much kids need, and it in no way made me think twice about trying. The kids are so so precious and beautiful and their personalities are so distinct and freaking cute, I can’t wait to go back for Christmas. Anyway, that was most of my weekend. Other than that we bought and hauled up a new couch, an actual furniture-store couch for grown-ups before we headed up there. When we got hme, I ran out to buy some placemats for the table and some nice plaid flannel pj pants (Calvin Klein, even) for the husband since he’s heading to Michigan again and maybe Canada. Since I got my first real paycheck that was in the triple digits, I figured I’d make those little purchases. My SIL was nice enough to give me several tops and pants that are too big for her as well as a dress, so I don’t have to shop much more for nice things to wear to work. And since she’s short like me, they need no hemming, which never happens, even with petite lengths. So, that was awesome, and the clothes are chic, yet kindergarten-appropriate. When I go for Christmas, I’ll have to bring her the things in my closet that are a little small for me and the clothing swap will be complete.

Leave a Reply

