Blackberry Cobbler And Grocery Shopping

When I go grocery shopping, I like to try to buy according to what is on sale. And not 20 cents off sale, but a significant portion of the price… $1.00 off a $3.00 product or this week blackberries, 6 oz. for $1.25 instead of $3.00. This tactic has helped me to eat fresh healthy foods while pregnant without blowing the grocery budget. That salad I added to the other day’s post was composed from great produce deals and was satisfying and good for the baby and I.

I think when we move I’ll be smarter about it and find a circular online or at the store before shopping so that I can see what’s on sale and plan meals accordingly. The way I do it now, I can’t plan ahead other than just knowing I’ll eat blackberries or spinach in the next few days but I can’t meal plan ahead anyway thanks to this first trimester business. For now, in addition to my produce purchases, I buy sale cereal or soup or frozen food to hoard until I’m hungry and it sounds decent.

Tonight I decided to make blackberry cobbler since those lovely blackberries are too tart to eat on their own. I had all the ingredients except for sugar and shortening. Doesn’t that make my pantry sound so healthy?? It’s kind of a lie because sure, I don’t keep sugar around, but I do have cinnamon toast crunch, Chex mix and fruit roll ups in there.

image     image

Anyway, I have always been a baker, even as a kid I would bake sugar cookies on snow days since my mom didn’t keep junk in the house, but we always had the basics needed for a simple no-frill cookie. I’ve even got a signature cookie, but I’ve never tried a pie or cobbler or really anything beyond cookies and the occasional cake. Im definitely hoping to keep expanding my repertoire of cooking and baking this year, with reasonably healthy dishes, so it was a perfect time to try my hand at a cobbler, which is actually really simple!!

image  image  image Oh my god, this was good…. I see breakfast tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

