26 and 27 Week Bumps and Updates,

image image

Guys, I put off week 26 (white shirt) for so long that I figured I might as well combine the two. Last weekend was busy with B and then Mother’s Day and then I hit one of those lazy, no motivation patches which mean that baby is growing furiously and my bump is about to pop for the 15,000th time.

Total weight gain:

At 26 weeks- 20 lbs, at 27 weeks- 17

Yes, you read that right. I had another weight explosion last week where I packed on four pounds in a day and ballooned up to 20 pounds gained, officially putting me just over the recommendation for the week! The first two times this happened (19 and 23 weeks I think) I let it go because I was behind in my weight gain anyway and I figured my body was just catching up all at once. This time, I was like oh helllllll no because I have a ways to go and cannot afford to be gaining 4 lbs a week on the regular. So, I upped my daily mileage to 2 miles per day instead of my former 1 mile goal and started using Myfitnesspal again to track my calories and nutrients. I even made a log in my planner where I note calories, sugar, fat and sodium along with weight and miles walked in case my weight gain didn’t slow and I needed to show my OB or a nutritionist what I was doing so they could tell me what I was doing wrong. Well, I lost 3 lbs this week, which really surprised me and just goes to show how much being aware of my diet and a little “exercise” can do.

Baby:

Baby Sam jabbed me in a painful way for the first time during my 27th week… I was in Amato’s trying to order a veggie sub on Saturday and kept getting this sharp little pain in my side ribs. It kind of makes me nervous about what’s to come, im just hoping he doesn’t break any ribs when he’s all big and strong in there. He feels lower this past week, but maybe it’s not that he’s lower because he’s also higher up in my abdomen. It’s just that when I stand up or, especially when I walk, I feel a weight and pressure in the bottom of my belly… probably just because it’s getting heavier and heavier.

Mommy:

Both B and Daddy got me flowers for Mother’s Day, which was especially sweet because it’s kind of a gray area when you’re really pregnant but haven’t had a baby yet. Ok, I told your Daddy he should get me flowers, but he didpick out a beautiful bouquet which the kitties have enjoyed tearing apart and shredding all over the house. I went to Fairfield to church with my gramma, aunt angie, cousin and a couple uncles for Mother’s Day, a tradition as it’s all Gramma wants every year. B and I went to see a movie, Hot Fuzz, mostly as an excuse to eat buttery movie popcorn and junior mints (cheat day!). I read Maria Semple’s “This One is Mine” which didn’t take long because she knows how to keep her readers engaged. I’m still really enjoying my espresso machine and have taken to making an iced double half-caff nonfat latte in the morning so that I still have a little caffeine allowance left over for an afternoon pick-me-up if needed.

Symptoms:

Allergy season has arrived, and added to the annoyance that is rhinitis of pregnancy. My feet and ankles get a little swollen sometimes but no one believes me because they’re normally pretty bony, so they look totally normal, but not normal for me!! But my rings still fit- I’ve made it 2/3 of the way wearing my rings, woo-hoo! I still feel good, but I make more noise getting up or down, I definitely cannot see certain parts of myself and I touch my belly an obnoxious amount because I can feel hard spots where his head and butt are, not to mention all those kicks and jabs! I was more tired but I think it was the drizzly cold weather and a growth spurt because now I’m back to my usual 7 hours of sleep and energy levels.

Leave a Reply

