A Rant on Counting/Math dealing with Pregnancy

Now everyone would say I’m in my third trimester, hurrah, we can all agree! I don’t know where this whole 28 weeks is the third trimester thing came from, maybe What to Expect because math and my Dr. and the insurance company all say it starts at 27 weeks (as in, when you’ve completed 27 weeks and are starting on your 28th week) but I’ve noticed that baby center and WTE call it 28, for no reason I can figure out since that makes for a very long 2nd trimester and a short third, when trimesters are just a construct designed to divide the pregnancy into three basically even parts.

[Editor’s note: here’s where we realize that my 28 week update has turned into a rant and its not coming back]

I’d say don’t get me started, but clearly I’ve already started. I have other pregnancy counting pet peeves, the biggest of all being when people say they are 7 months pregnant when they are IN their 7th month, but are actually 6 months pregnant thanks to these stupid charts that tried to simplify the whole week to month thing but obviously failed due to a lack of critical thinking. I mean, it seems pretty obvious that if theyre calling weeks 1-4 month one that you wouldn’t consider yourself to be 1 month pregnant at 1 week, except it apparently isn’t. By that logic I’d have to call myself 30 since I’m in my 30th year and we’d be calling our day-old babies a month old since they are in week 1-4. I mean. Gah.

Well, now I’ve just ranted and its probably boring to most and probably ticking off fellow pregos who just want to make themselves sound more pregnant by saying 26 weeks is 7 months pregnant because a chart said 26-30= month 7. My main problem with this is that people who are properly reporting how many months they are when asked are being treated like they’re monstrous because they’re so much bigger than other women were/are at 6 months pregnant (when of course they are bigger because they’re 4 weeks further along than other ladies claiming to be 6 months pregnant). I’ll leave the lunar month people out of this because at least there is logic behind that. I think the WHO actually tried to standardize our way of counting months during pregnancy and chose lunar months as the way to go. By regular months I am 6 1/2 months pregnant, by lunar months I am 7 months pregnant and by the super common misreading of that chart I’m 7 1/2 months pregnant. THIS is why we count weeks.

I don’t even think I can blame this on hormones, I think it’s just my Sheldon-like nature and pure vexation at inconsistencies, especially when the logic is clear. Follow the logic…. my husband thinks I’m insane and should let it go and I keep insisting that I cant because it’s WRONG. I think know he genuinely wishes he could sedate me sometimes.


Leave a Reply

